AMS Awards, Fellows, and Honorary Members

Congratulations to all of the 2015 Honorary Members, Award Winners, Lecturers, and Fellows!

The Council of the American Meteorological Society invites members and friends of the AMS to submit nominations for consideration for AMS Awards, Lecturers, Named Symposia, Fellows, Honorary Members, and Named Sessions.


1 May 2015 Deadline
Society awards are presented at the Annual Meeting, specialized conferences, or other appropriate occasions during the year.


1 May 2015 Deadline
Lecturers are selected each year by the Council based on a recommendation by the STAC Commissioner. Nominations considered are those submitted in the current and preceding two years.

Named Symposia

1 May 2015 Deadline
“Recognition of scientists in the fields served by the AMS, living or deceased, in the form of a named conference or symposium or a named special issue of one of the Society’s journals is an honor reserved for only the most outstanding of our colleagues."


1 May 2015 Deadline
"Those eligible for election to Fellow shall have made outstanding contributions to the atmospheric or related oceanic or hydrologic sciences or their applications during a substantial period of years."

Honorary Members

1 July 2015 Deadline
"Honorary Members shall be persons of acknowledged preeminence in the atmospheric or related oceanic or hydrologic sciences, either through their own contributions to the sciences or their application or through furtherance of the advance of those sciences in some other way."

Named Sessions

1 May 2015 Deadline
A named session honoring an individual may be held within an existing specialty conference or symposium on the recommendation of the STAC Commissioner and approval by the Executive Committee. Except for extraordinary circumstances, there should be a limit of two special sessions per specialty conference.